Skip to content

Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Broken Up Into a TV Series (Extended Editions)


Alexander Eckert

April 23, 2023

If you're a fan of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, you know that finding the time and energy to watch them in one sitting can be a challenge. Each movie clocks in at over three hours. Not to mention, if you're watching with someone who tends to fall asleep during long movies (like my wife), it can detract from the overall experience. In this blog post, we'll explore how to break down the Lord of the Rings movies into episodes, creating a more accessible and engaging experience for all. So grab your elven cloak, and let's embark on an adventure through Middle-earth, one episode at a time.

The Fellowship of the Ring

The Fellowship of the Ring - Disc 1

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
1A Long-Expected Party00:00:0000:28:4328:43
2A Short Cut to Mushrooms00:28:4400:55:0826:24
3A Knife in the Dark00:55:0901:20:3525:24
4The Council of Elrond01:20:3601:41:1820:42

The Fellowship of the Ring - Disc 2

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
5A Journey in the Dark00:00:0000:23:5923:59
6The Bridge of Khazad-dûm00:24:0000:42:1918:19
8The Breaking of the Fellowship00:59:2601:30:00 (01:57:29)30:34 (58:03)

The Two Towers

The Two Towers - Disc 1

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
9The Three Hunters00:00:0000:25:5925:59
10The White Rider00:26:0000:55:5329:53
11The King of the Golden Hall00:55:5401:20:4824:54
12The King's Decision01:20:4901:42:1121:22

The Two Towers - Disc 2

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
13Isengard Unleashed00:00:0000:26:4926:49
14Aragorn's Return00:26:5000:57:3130:41
15The Battle of the Hornburg00:57:3201:20:1522:43
16The Tales That Really Mattered01:20:1601:43:48 (02:03:33)23:32 (42:17)

The Return of the King

The Return of the King - Disc 1

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
17Gollum's Villainy00:00:0000:25:5525:55
18The Reforging of Narsil00:25:5500:48:1422:19
19The Lighting of the Beacons00:48:1501:10:3022:15
20The Stairs of Cirith Ungol01:10:3101:35:0524:34
21The Paths of the Dead01:35:0602:02:2227:16

The Return of the King - Disc 2

#Episode TitleStartEndLength
22Breaking the Gate of Gondor00:00:0000:23:3523:35
23The Battle of the Pelennor Fields00:23:3600:47:4824:12
24The Last Debate00:47:4901:09:0021:11
25Mount Doom01:09:0101:28:5119:50
26The End of All Things01:28:5201:49:0820:16